Jumanna Mana – Flower Press

I was immediately attracted to this work in the Tate Liverpool as soon as I entered the room I was drawn to the natural forms the artist has used. The balance of the ‘man made’ ceramic head with the wildness of the natural botanical shapes , I think the work reminds me of home as I live in the countryside and so this is why I believe I am so attracted to it.jumanna-mana

Manna’s piece is designed to draw parallels between Athens and Jerusalem,in order to demonstrate how their stories both contributed to the West’s self-construction,that subsequently played a part in shaping the economy and politics within the Middle East.

I hope to show how by living in a house with new people this year, from different courses and backgrounds that my practise and thoughts might be influenced by them. With nature as the linking narrative throughout I also hope to explore the contrasts between nature found here in an urban environment, with that which I see at home in the countryside.

Leave a Reply

