Examination of Material from My Garden

As my project is based on my garden, the interactions there and all the seemingly mundane things that it holds I thought it would be appropriate to extract and examine some of the objects .

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

There is a pile of bricks like these in the garden, each is different an interesting in it’s own right – providing a habitat for mosses and insects. I am really interested in the unique shapes of each and the weathered appearance.

2017-03-20 11.13.48 1.jpg

2017-03-20 11.22.39 1.jpg

 

2017-03-20 11.38.50 1.jpg

This is something I would like to develop further for the future exhibition . I want to create some form of ‘wildness’ in a gallery space. However by using this specific work of tying the leaves together and nailing them to the wall it almost removes the wild from them to make them more appropriate to a gallery space and thus questioning whether it is right to put nature into a gallery space because in a way it is preventing nature to be nature. Perhaps creating a ‘messier’ less contained work would be more effective in bringing fulfilling my ambition to bring a sense of the wildness of nature.

 

 

2017-03-20 11.26.56 1.jpg

When I was photographing my work today I also found the relationship between my space and the space on the other side of the wall quite interesting. The contrast in colours and the style of our work was quite striking.

 

 

Leave a Reply

