Written Statement of Artistic Practise

 

screenshot-2016-12-05-13-39-37

Grass is not merely an object, plant or a thing. It is a concept; it holds the reality of home, childhood, safety, familiarity and family. This project has been loosely autobiographical. I have always been drawn to grass, initially to its aesthetics and the way I can interpret it through different mediums. But the more I explore, more I am discovering it is the experience of the grass that is significant. Back home, I am surrounded by grass which can be seen as mundane and humble thing; it has no vibrant flowers, it bares no fruit, it gives no fragrance. Yet it is there, it is present. Just like my home; firstly my house, it has always been there, it houses our family. Home in a sense of my family, they can sometimes seem just an ordinary, humble and an obvious part of my life, yet when I am away from them their significance is brought to my attention. Their existence is all that matters, just like the grass, they are present. In my current student house, there is no grass. It is not present. Perhaps, it is this sense of home that I want to bring into my work. This new life, in my current house is becoming a home, I am bringing my sense of ‘grass’ here and making a new sense of home.

Author: Alice Bell

Fine Art Photographer currently based in Cardiff Experience in Wedding, Product, Lifestyle and Event photography - for enquires wonderifimalice@gmail.com

Leave a comment